The Department of Biological Sciences started offering Bachelor of Science in Biology in1980. Twenty two years later, the department offered Master of Science in Biology. With more than 40 years of existence, the department has produced significant number of graduates who are now working in various universities and colleges, government and private research institutions, laboratories, hospitals and private companies. In 2012, the Commission on Higher Education awarded the department as one of the Centers of Excellence in Biology, the first in North and Central Luzon. The department is now also offering Doctor of Philosophy in Biology as one of its graduate programs. In line with the vision and mission of the Central Luzon State University,, the Department of Biological Sciences remains committed in producing quality human resources equipped with strong culture of research to empower communities thru knowledge creation, technology generation and transfer.


The Department of Chemistry is one of the pioneering departments in the College focusing on the fundamental concepts as well as the recent trends in chemistry – and the important roles it plays in our society. The Department has grown to offer its own undergraduate and graduate curricula from its humble beginnings as a service department to other degree programs in Central Luzon State University. Since the institutionalization of Bachelor of Science in Chemistry in 1982, the Department of Chemistry has been providing quality chemists, chemical analysts and chemical technicians in the fields of research, industry and even in the academe; continually contributing to both local and international workforce.

 The undergraduate offering of the Department, the Bachelor of Science in Chemistry, was once recognized as one of the national Centers of Development in Chemistry and is also granted the Level IV, Phase 2 re-accreditation by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP), Inc.  A survey conducted in 2017 among 56 state colleges and universities offering undergraduate degree program in chemistry recognized the Central Luzon State University as the 8th Best University in terms of its undergraduate program in Chemistry based on the overall performance in the annual Board for Chemists administered by the Professional Regulations Commission (PRC), accreditation and faculty-student ratio.


The Department of Environmental Science (DOES) was established in 2013 to centralize the offering of programs and courses in environmental science, management and environmental studies as well as the earth sciences. Prior to the creation of the department, the graduate programs in environmental management were being offered by the Institute of Climate Change and Environmental Management (ICCEM) while the undergraduate curriculum in environmental science was being administered by the Department of Biological Sciences. The courses in the earth sciences were being handled by the Department of Chemistry. These programs and courses were brought together under one unit as part of the effort of the university to implement the vertical articulation of graduate programs. In 2018, the department began to administer the existing distance learning programs in environmental management, in collaboration with the Distance, Open, and Transnational University (DOT-Uni). Initially, the department was manned by three core faculty members. Today, it has seven core faculty members with advanced degrees in the various subfields or allied disciplines of environmental science. In 2019, a core faculty member of the department was appointed to the rank of professor. In 2014, the department served as host to a Canadian professor who conducted training-workshops on green chemistry education that it co-organized. A US Peace Corps Response Volunteer was also assigned to the department in 2019, to work with the department on its extension project on community-based environmental management. The department produced its first BS in Environmental Science graduates in 2016 and its first PhD in Environmental Management graduate in 2015. It welcomed its first international student in 2018, the same year when one of its BS Environmental Science students was chosen as a BPI-DOST Science Awardee


From Mathematics, Statistics and Physics Department, the department was reformed as the Department of Mathematics and Physics due to the creation of the Department of Statistics which was approved by the Board of Regents (BOR) Resolution No. 10-2000 on February 7, 2000. The department caters the BS Mathematics (BS Math) degree program. The BS Math curriculum was first designed based on CHED Memorandum Order (CMO) No. 19 Series 2007. The proposal of designing the curriculum and offering of the degree was headed by Dr. Amelia Z. Daquioag, the Department Chair during that time. The offering of the degree program was approved by BOR Resolution No. 28-2010 on June 10, 2010. Along with the implementation of the K-12 program in the educational system of the Philippines, the curriculum was revised based on CMO No. 48 Series 2017. The revised curricula were approved by BOR Resolution No. 42-2018 on September 13, 2018. The degree program is a four-year course that provides substantial exposure to the breadth and depth of mathematics from classical to contemporary, and from theoretical to applied. It covers foundational courses in core area of mathematics as well as advanced courses that will help prepare graduates to pursue higher studies or work in a variety of fields.


The Department of Statistics was created and approved by the Board of Regents Resolution 10-2000 on February 7, 2000. Pioneer members of the Department are Marcial P. Estolano (designated as the first Department Chairperson), Florentina D. Monta, Marilou G. Abon, Zenaida F. Mateo, and Anna Maria Lourdes S Latonio, all of whom were from the then Mathematics, Statistics and Physics Department, which was then also renamed as the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Physics due to the creation of the Department of Statistics. Along with the establishment of the Department of Statistics is the offering of the BS Statistics curriculum through the proposal of Prof. Marcial P. Estolano. The BS Statistics curriculum was designed based on the BS Statistics Curriculum offerings of UP Diliman and UP Los Baños. It was first presented to the Academic Council and to the Board of Regents for approval before implementation in the A.Y. 2000-2001. The program is a four-year course that provides the students with the essential information, understanding of the different statistical theories, concepts, methods, and their applications.